The Institute of Cost and Management Accountants of Pakistan was established in 1951 and was granted statutory status under the Cost and Management Accountants Act, 1966 for the regulation of the profession of Cost and Management Accounting. The institute was established with the name 'Pakistan Institute of Industrial Accountants (PIIA)' which was changed to ICMAP in 1976. It is considered as the oldest professional accountancy institute of Pakistan.

ICMAP is the sole provider of cost and management accounting education, training and professional certification in Pakistan.

ICMAP has over 3000 members, who hold positions in trade, commerce, industry and government in Pakistan and abroad. The active registered students number around 15000, which makes ICMAP one of the largest professional institutions in Pakistan. The institute has its head office in Karachi.

ICMAP is the member of the following accounting bodies:

International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants (CAPA)
South Asian Federation of Accountants (SAFA)


The professional course of ACMA is consist of 21 subjects which are divided into six stages. The Members of ICMAP are know as ACMA's ( Associate cost and management accountants) or FCMA's ( Fellow cost and management accountants).The basic difference between ACMA and FCMA is that the FCMA's are senior members of the ICMAP

Associate Cost and Management Accountant (ACMA)

3-year work experience and completing membership requirements

Fellow Cost and Management Accountant (FCMA)

5-year post associateship (ACMA) work experience and completing membership requirements